Hot Cinnamon Dark Mayan Chocolate

So I’m sitting in my kitchen, waiting for my cup of hot chocolate to cool. It smells amazing, but I still have this doubt that it’s not going to taste as amazing as my nose thinks it will. Thinking about my hesitation to drink it, besides the fact that it is steaming hot, I start thinking about my hesitation to depend on people. The way I avoid putting my trust in people I love for fear they won’t pull through. The truth is, I do it all the time. Trusting people I mean. I just get let down too often and think about how next time I won’t be so jubilant with my trust. The heart of the matter is that no one likes to be disappointed. I can play all these games with my heart about trust, but first I must learn what things I can always put my trust in and will never let me down. Most people say… family. Lovely…. for them. My life doesn’t scream I have a family I can trust, hell, my life doesn’t even scream I have a family I can love. Time and time again I’ve trusted my family and have on countless occasions been disappointed in them, or even just myself. Putting trust in my family isn’t somewhere I can go. What about friends, or work? All things that change with time. Yet there is this one thing, this one rock I can put my trust in, and it’s the hardest to do. Putting my trust in God is something that comes to me like an artist trying to write a scientific paper. It’s a challenge and I need lots of research and background information. Why though? In God’s word, he says over and over again to put our trust in him. How often does that ever go wrong? A song from David says ‘Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God. They are brought to their knees and fall, but we rise up and stand firm!’ Psalm 20:7-8. David was fighting in battles and he chose to trust in my God, I don’t fight in battles and I just need to trust that I get my homework done. Surely, if David can put his trust in the Lord, as can I! Trust, trust, trust. Verse after verse. It brings nothing but the awesomeness of God. Psalm 37:5-7 Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will do this: He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noonday sun. Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him’ Proverbs 3:5 Trust in the lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.

In my life, when I think about my career or the choices I make, trusting God isn’t the first thing I jump to. Why? What makes God so trustworthy? Once someone said to me that they know the Bible is true because the way they experienced salvation was very true to what the Bible had said. This is step one. Believing the Bible, believing there is a God and that he spoke the word into existence. If God is real and he loves me, which he does, then I believe he gave me the Bible to learn about him. When I open the bible I can read verses that he has selected for me to read. This is step two. The verses I read about Israel, David, Paul and the other disciples all talk about trusting the Lord. Their lives were awful compared to mine. But it is in the proof of his son that I can trust him even more. That Christ died for me, what kind of better way to grow trust for someone is there than dying on the cross just to spend eternity with me. Isaiah 25:9 In that day they will say ‘Surely this is our God; we trusted in him, and he SAVED us. This is the Lord, we trusted in him; let us rejoice and be glad in his salvation.’ This is step three. Knowing that he laid down his son is all I will ever need to remember to trust God. Even with something as simple as drinking a delicious cup of hot cocoa. And it was good.

Leave a Reply

