Regrets

It’s easy to look back on our pasts and think “What a waste of time” Maybe it was the County Fair. Hell, I could have spent all those summers working and making money, or getting a better education. Or how about the way we were raised. If I’d been raised a different way, I might have better privileges. I could have started living my life sooner, and maybe I wouldn’t be so confused. “What a pointless experience” “What a useless way to live a life” So often everyone looks at their life and wishes they had someone else’s. Maybe it’s a celebrity, or maybe it’s your neighbors. When we are ungrateful for the life we have, that is when other’s become more attractive. Many a time in my life, I see other families. Unbroken, laughter, praying together at dinner, holding each other, sharing their lives with one another, supporting each other. I have even gotten to a place where I’ve just cried countless nights again and again, just praying that I could have just a piece of what all of these other families have.

Questions rise like “Why was I put into this family? What purpose is her for me? Surely, I belong with another family!”

The truth is, you were put into your family for a reason. You have been given your experiences for a reason. The life you’ve been given to live out has a reason.

The reason is this, God desires for us to know him. We all live different lives, grow differently, have different experiences because God has granted us a gift. The gift is that we may know him in a truly personal way. With all these different experiences God allows us to see a piece of his character that no one else can see, and then we can share our experiences with one another as testimony to the works and proof of God’s existence.

In painful situations, it can be hard to see why God allows such events to happen, but his desire is to draw us to him. James 4:8 say ‘Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you!’ God first draws us near to him by the blood of his son. The whole purpose of Christ dying on the cross was that so we can once again be reunited with him. God wants to be with us and close to us, just as much as anyone who loves someone else. John 6:44 says that God draws us near, and Christ raises us up. It is because of the blood on the cross that we can even be close to God. Hebrews 10:22, Let us draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water.

It can be hard to come to God with a full assurance of faith when we are surrounded by the regrets we have in our lives, especially since regret is usually entrapped by sin, and maybe even sin your haven’t sought forgivness for. The truth of the matter is that God wants to mourn with us, he wants to comfort us. Jesus wept for Laz’s death. God comforts us with the holy spirit. Romans 12:14 says Rejoice with those who rejoice, and mourn with those who mourn. We can find comfort in one another and in God, but there is no need for comfort if we are completely satisfied with our lives. A prayer in proverbs was really encouraging to me. “Two things I ask of you Lord, don’t refuse me before I die. Keep falsehood and lies far from me. Give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise I may have too much and disown you and say ‘Who is the Lord?” or I may be poor and steal which dishonors your name.” God gives us what we need, not what we want. Sometimes both collide if we are focused on God.

If we keep looking back on the lives we have lived that don’t reflect how we feel today, we are forgetting that God has given us what we need in order to draw near to him and know him in a unique and awesome way. How blessed are we that we can know the God of the universe.

Leave a Reply

