“Will you be my Valentine?”

Valentine’s Day

Single’s Awareness Day

It’s either a great day or a crummy day.

For me, its neither really. It hasn’t always been, especially when I was being subject to a middle school or high school crush, it was maybe a little sad… I might have even gotten angry sometimes. Overall I remember Valentine’s Day being that fun day to just love on other people; candy, flowers, cards. My mom started celebrating Valentine’s Day with my brothers and I by leaving us little goodies and little cards once we were beyond the age of taking Valentine’s Day cards to school, thus it became more of a Hallmark Holiday. February 14th seems to come and go, and after a while (19 years to be exact) of being single (minus the week-long high school romances that never amounted to anything) you kind of get used to it and even like it. There’s even a (strangely) satisfying joy of seeing other couples celebrate together.

Single people seem to get so terrified of the day where culture has decided to illuminate relationships, like single people don’t have relationships. To a point it’s understandable, if being in a relationship is what you think will truly satisfy you.

This Valentine’s Day was just about that; what truly satisfies me. Sometimes I hem and haw over whether that hole would get filled with a guy, or a perfect family, a brilliant job, a new pet… but over and over again God takes me down this path I like to call “The Journey to Godliness” (a topic I decided to cover in the Bible Study I’m co-leading) This journey is best depicted in Hosea 2:5-16.

-She said, ‘I will go after my lovers, who give me my food and my water, my wool and my linen, my olive oil and my drink.’

Therefore I will block her path with thornbushes; I will wall her in so that she cannot find her way.
She will chase after her lovers but not catch them; she will look for them but not find them.
Then she will say, ‘I will go back to my husband as at first, for then I was better off than now.’
She has not acknowledged that I was the one who gave her the grain, the new wine and oil, who lavished on her the silver and gold— which they used for Baal.
“Therefore I will take away my grain when it ripens, and my new wine when it is ready. I will take back my wool and my linen, intended to cover her naked body.
So now I will expose her lewdness before the eyes of her lovers; no one will take her out of my hands.
I will stop all her celebrations: her yearly festivals, her New Moons, her Sabbath days—all her appointed festivals.
I will ruin her vines and her fig trees, which she said were her pay from her lovers; I will make them a thicket,
and wild animals will devour them.  I will punish her for the days she burned incense to the Baals; she decked herself with rings and jewelry, and went after her lovers,

but me she forgot,” declares the LORD.

“Therefore I am now going to allure her; I will lead her into the wilderness and speak tenderly to her. There I will give her back her vineyards, and will make the Valley of Achor, a door of hope. There she will respond as in the days of her youth, as in the day she came up out of Egypt.

“In that day,” declares the LORD, “you will call me ‘my husband’; you will no longer call me ‘my master’.-

This passage depicts the rebellious rampage of the Israelites and God’s unending love for them. Something I’ve come to realize is that, though I am not an Isrealite, I still act like one and God must treat as such to win my heart. God must take everything I trust in (idols, guys, career) and throw me into a desert (despair, loneliness) so I can see that he is what I need, and he will never forsake me, so that I may look on my trials and rejoice, praise, and hope in the Lord.

You see, all God wants is our hearts! To trust in him and see that he provides everything we need!

This Valentine’s Day, there was a little card in my heart mailbox and it said…

“Will you be my Valentine?” -God.

Who are you giving your heart to?

Leave a Reply

