It is God Who Arms Me with Strength

So I have this fear of not being strong enough to defend myself. In seeking where that fear comes from, or why I have it, God began to show me that it is he who makes me strong. The truth is I am weak, but I can depend on such a strong father to help me.

But what does it mean when 2 Samuel 22:33 says It is God who arms me with strength? How does God give me strength?

Ephesians 6:10 says Be strong in the Lord and his mighty power.

When  I am in a position where I need strength, how is it that I lean on him and call on the Lord for strength?

Ephesians 6 continues on with some really good tips. It’s all about putting on the armor of God.

6:11 says Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.       This is the point of using God’s strength, so we can defeat evil.

Verse 12 talks about how having strength in God is more than just defeating our own sins, but to defeat this dark world and the evils that are ever present in it. “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of the dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”

If we put on the armor of God, we will be able to take a stance against the days of evil, and once it is done we will be able to stand! “Therefore put on the full armor of God so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.”

So what does that look like? Well, Ephesians covers it all….

First it says we should stand firm with the belt of truth, buckled around our waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with our feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. We should also take up a shield of faith to put out the flaming arrows of the evil one, then we should take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the spirit, which is God’s word. And pray.

So we have the full armor of God:
Belt of Truth
Breastplate of Righteousness
Boots of Readiness
Shield of Faith
Helmet of Salvation
The Sword of the Spirit

With the belt of truth buckled around my waist I can always remember and easily access the truth that God loves, and is most powerful, righteous, and holy. What God is is true! With the breastplate of Righteousness, I can protect my heart and soul from sin and know that I am kept from eternal death by the power of Christ’s blood. With my feet fitted in Readiness that comes from the gospel of peace, I can be ready to share, love, fight for the truth of the gospel. With my shield of Faith, I can protect myself from the lies of the world, and always trust the God makes me strong, he is my protection! I will not be subject to the acts of sin that come shooting at me like flaming arrows. With the helmet of salvation I can protect my thoughts from lies and always remember God has raised me up and made me perfect in him. Lastly, I can carry the sword of the spirit which is God’s word, the Bible. I can use it to defeat evil by calling on God’s truth and his love. Lastly I can pray all the time, about anything and everything, and that I always put on God’s strength.

Leave a Reply

