What is truth?

During the last two weeks, I’ve been talking to a lot of atheists. In debates that don’t turn around in circles, it ultimately comes down to “Prove to me God is true, I hear how you know it’s true, but how can I know it’s true?” This is the question of all time. The answer is very simple though, and is even answered in the bible.  “For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the man’s spirit with in him?” This verse from 1 Cor 2:11 simply states that only a man can know his own truth. My truth, my reality, can never be proven to anyone else because it is my experience alone. It is true that I am typing on this blog right now, because I am typing this blog right now. This is true. Apart from the experience of typing this blog right now, there is no way for me to convince you this is true. I can tell you what is feels like to press the keys, to think of the words I’m writing down, to see the screen, but you are trusting in my truth that I am explaining to you. You can read this blog, and I can tell you I wrote it, but if you do not find my truth to be true in your mind, it is ultimately false to you.

“The man without the spirit does not accept the things that come from the spirit of god, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually discerned. The spiritual man makes judgment about all things, but he himself is not subject to any man’s judgment: For who has known the mind of the Lord, that he may instruct him? But we have the mind of Christ.”

People want to have proof, truth. What truth will fully satisfy them apart from their own experiences? Written documents of the miracles Jesus performed? We have them, it’s in the New Testament of the Bible. But even a collection of written documents by the people who actually lived with Jesus isn’t good enough, why? Because even having written documents isn’t enough to convince people. The Bible wasn’t just a story people decided to sit down and write, but a transcription of events that took place. Either the people who wrote it lied and willing died just to hold up to a lie, are crazy and all imagined the same events taking place, or they are true. These events are events of their own experiences, and if having written documents was truly enough to convince unbelievers, then it would work. For a lot of people it does work because we have our experiences with Christ. The hard core truth is that unbelievers don’t want to believe and no amount of truth other than truth given from God will ever convince people God is true.

My experiences prove to me that God is real and he pursues a relationship with us, because he pursues a relationship with me that changes my life daily. Not only that, but I have people around me who testify to the same things; not only that, but I have a book written by some 60 people all claiming the same thing. To me, that is the truth that is true to me.

To someones truth who’s truth isn’t like my truth… my truth just sounds crazy.

“You will seek me and find me if you seek me with all your heart” Isaiah 65:1

Leave a Reply

