“Show me the glory”

Exodus 33: Moses sees God’s glory.

Image

I was walking home the other day (this was a long the other day ago) and it was late, probably 11 or 12. Barefoot, the grass just condensing moisture onto its leaves. Walking slowly across the grass of a highschool football field I began to wonder what it was like for Moses to see God’s glory. For reals, His glory was visible before Moses. Woah.

Then Moses said “Now show me your glory.”

And the Lord said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the Lord, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion. But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.”

 Then the Lord said, “There is a place near me where you may stand on a rock. When my glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back; but my face must not be seen.”

So walking home, I thought how cool it would be to see God’s glory. Shyly I started praying, “God, do you think I could see your glory like Moses? Could I see it just pass before me?” God wasn’t quick to answer. I felt his presence near me, what I like to describe as light you’d be certain to see when you’d open your eyes. I stopped walking, now on the sidewalk, waiting. A few cars passed, and I looked into the night and tried to imagine what it would be like. Shyly, I asked again. I got the feeling that my request was kind of ridiculous, partially because I felt so just asking, but also because it might just not be the cup I’m given. I continued on my way home.

A month or maybe many weeks later I was talking to my Pastor that I’ve been living with for the summer about this, asking to see God’s glory. My interpreted response from God was “Really? You’re asking me to see my glory?” My Pastor was hesitant to believe that, that was God.

“God wants to show you his glory,” he said, “and he wants you to keep asking. It might not be a physical glory, but he’ll show you his glory.”

My perspective of God changed a little bit in that. I see my perspective of God is often clouded by my own judgment of myself, silly, ridiculous, not worthy of grand requests. By my pastor’s response I saw the tenderness in God and his desire to let me see his glory, I also see how little I know God.

I’m excited to grow and know him more. Maybe I’ll even really get to see his glory!

That is my welcome to August.

One thought on ““Show me the glory”

  1. teresarose October 24, 2012 / 4:26 PM

    A verse I just found that really impacted me: John 11:40- words to Martha concerning the death of Lazarus who Jesus said “this sickness will not end in death” (vs 4) and died. Jesus is about to go into the tomb, and Martha attempts to stop him:

    “Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?”
    It made me think of my desire to see his glory, and not feeling like he’d show me… but if I believe….. wow!

Leave a Reply

