A New Side of Forgiveness: Forbearance.

Maybe some of you have seen the movie “Love Story” Image

When I watched this movie a while back, I took one thing with me:

“Love means never having to say your sorry.”

Overall the movie was …ok, but I really loved this quote. When I think about what it means to give love freely, unconditionally, this is what I think of. This is God’s grace.  The fact that Christ died before we were, with our intention to sin on the cross and never having even repented yet, God paid it.

Forbearance: to control oneself when provoked; patience; making an allowance for; delay from enforcing rights.

When someone offends you, what do you do?

Do you:

      stay angry with them until they ask you for forgiveness

  or

       do you forgive them without hesitation

  or maybe, like me, you wait until they seem “worthy” of forgiveness.

God has even called to a greater forgiveness than just finding it in our hearts to forgive, but to look on to our offenders as faultless, righteous, blameless as God sees his children through Christ.

Ephesians 4:2 says “Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love” NIV. The KJV says “forbearing one another in love” NLT says “making allowance for each others faults because of your love”

The context of Chapter 4 is unity and maturity in the body of Christ.

Can you believe that God calls us to live of life of being able to forgive people immediately and not accounting for any fault. Just instant love. I pray that I could just see everyone around me with that perspective, to be able to forgive like that. To have someone offend me and to just say “It’s done.” God doesn’t just say forgive them when they repent, but forgive them when they are still sinners. Forgive them first.

Christ, to the very people who hung him on the cross said “Forgive them Father, they know not what they do”.

Some people say “Love means always being willing to say your sorry” which I agree with, but “Love means never having to say your sorry” is a new message all together. It means “I forgave you before, I forgave you already”. If I apply that to my family, to my mom, my life is completely changed.

Leave a Reply

