No Atonement of My Own

 

Oh my Lord, would you ever take this heart
so abused and shattered by my own hungry soul?
I come to you empty, to offer these cold broken bones
it’s no atonement of my own.

https://i1.wp.com/www.ronedmondson.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/man-kneeling-in-prayer1.jpg

Oh my Lord, your beauty is holy and pure.
Who am I that I could ever expect to learn
to walk with you, in your ways, in truth?
Oh if only this soul could learn!

And I’m still crawling out of my grave
hoping again to see the light of new days
and I’m still crawling out of my grave
covered in stains of my old guilty ways
they follow, they follow: if I could escape
the truth is so close, it lingers around!
Save me, Lord from my own sinful self.

If like a lamb I could offer up to reconcile myself to you
nothing I ever could would be beautiful like you
so perfect in love, what you’ve provided in its place
no beaten heart could ever replace

What a mystery you ask of me, that you would take this heart.
Its so pathetic, so diffused, yet you want it, to make it new.
Oh my Lord, would you ever take this heart?
I’ve eaten and torn it away.

Leave a Reply

