Keeping Me Weak

“My grace is sufficient for you, my power is made perfect in weakness”

Weakness. It can be a challenging things to grasp.

I am weak. It can be a challenging thing to admit.

For the past couple of weeks God has been showing me my weakness! Whether it’s my ability to maintain contact with my family, getting assignments turned in on time, losing my student I.D. dropping my laptop in the snow, trying to go to sleep and wake up on time but often being prevented from doing so by mindless thoughts, not being able to take a nap when I’m tired, forgetting to go to work… it’s been a couple weeks of weakness for me.

Isn’t it just pride though, the reason we don’t want to be weak? We try to believe that we can be strong enough to take control of our lives, yet whenever we do…. it doesn’t always go right does it?

It doesn’t matter how crazy or simple my life is, but sometimes and most times I am completely incapable of really doing anything. I’m a hot mess.

And I’m getting used to accepting it more and more everyday.

Why? Because I know that it’s all Christ’s strength anyway. It’s through my prayers of desperation that God really answers. “He’s wooing me from the jaws of distress.”  And even though its distress is as simple as not being able to turn my assignment in on time because I was late to class and dropped my laptop in the snow of my backpack that was not properly zipped…. it’s humbling me to show me that I am not sufficient. I am quite incapable, and that’s ok because our God is greater and I want to allow Him to work through my weaknesses.

“I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses” Paul writes to the church in Corinth, “so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

Sometimes that power looks like being able to relate to other brothers and sisters with complete humility, sharing scripture together and growing in unity. God’s gift of grace in the Holy Spirit is sufficient for us.

How I love to dwell on how strong God is in my apparent weakness. I am so weak, so vain, so sinful, so prideful: all so that God may work all the more to work things out in my life regardless of what I am incapable to do, and so that He changes me as a testimony to His power and proof that Christ came, lived, and died “that we may have life and have it to the full.”

2 thoughts on “Keeping Me Weak

  1. Lana March 2, 2013 / 1:31 AM

    love this. good post.

    • teresarose March 2, 2013 / 8:34 PM

      Thanks for reading! I hope it encourages you! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

