Bread and Blood, Body and Wine

“because Jesus lives forever, he has a permanent priesthood.  Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because he always lives to intercede for them.”

-Hebrews 7:24-25 NIV

On the first Sunday of the month we take communion together as a church. Walking into the sanctuary, I really wasn’t sure if sitting with all these people taking communion was something that I wanted to do. I wasn’t really sure if sharing in this act together was something I really wanted to do. And I was really sure I could do it with the amount of doubt I had in my heart… so I thought maybe it would be better to just sit.

“Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good” Romans 12:21. As soon as we started singing I couldn’t get up to the plate fast enough. I must overcome this evil, this doubt, with good.

As I went back to my seat I stood with the bread and juice in my hand. I knew that taking this without remembering what Christ has accomplished would be like spitting in God’s face. Just take a moment to remember. I’ll be honest, I didn’t want to.

Then a picture came through my mind as our pastor shared the verse above from Hebrews. Because Jesus rose from the dead, He stands before us, before the father. He always intercedes for us.  I began to picture person after person moving through a line at heaven’s gates. Head down, they would come before the Father. Then Jesus would step forward with His hand upon their shoulder and say “They are clean because of me.” The next would approach, head down aware of their lives before God, and yet Jesus would say “they are clean, because of me.” Person after person would approach.

Then came me. Standing before God, my head may have even been looking away, behind, so dismayed by the doubt that has weighed upon my soul. So sure that with the heart I have, God could never accept me. I wait for the words that declare my eternal destiny separate from God. I wait. Jesus comes beside me and places His hand upon my shoulder, there is a pause. Then He speaks, “You too are clean, because of me.”

“With all of my doubt still fresh in my heart?” I ask, ashamed.

“Yes.” He welcomes me in. He always welcomes me in once again. For I have believed in His son.

“Thank you Jesus for what you have done,” I muttered in my heart.

No doubt is too great that God can overcome, no sin is too great like Christ’s blood does not cover. He is perfect forever. (Hebrews 7:28)

One thought on “Bread and Blood, Body and Wine

  1. propheticrevivalworldhops March 28, 2013 / 2:22 PM

    Greetings friend, I’m Melissa Crawford and I appreciate the prophecy that I found on your webpage. My husband wanted me to invite you to share with our live video streaming e-revival audience as soon as possible. At Spirit University he is training a team of prophetic students and we are all receiving end time visions, dreams and words like yours. One of our students has been seeing fireballs falling from Heaven and as you know, one actually fell on Russia.

    Many other prophetic signs are being confirmed at our e-Revival.

    Everyone receives a prophetic word by my husband James Crawford; if they request one and we have an e-Revival every day! We would love to have you or anybody else’s prophecies shared at God’s revival!

    Times you can call in to share:
    Mon – Fri at 10:45 am & 7 pm (central)
    Sat. at 4 pm (central)
    Sun. at 11 am (central)

    Feel free to call our cell at (318) 655-2297 or email james@world-hops.com for more information.

    Keep up the good work and God bless you.

Leave a Reply

