The Source

Trust The Lord with all your heart, lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your path straight. Proverbs 3

This is a pretty great verse for life, and (obviously) especially a life lived for God. It has a command, a call to humbleness, a practical, and a promise.

A desire I have for my life that God has called us all to is to love Him and love others (Matthew 22:37). What that looks like can be scary if you stop reading there- especially when you hear the great commission to go to all the nations and making disciples, people to follow Jesus (Matthew 28:18). It’s also scary when I start measuring how the Holy Spirit is working by the number of people I share my story with or the good news of Jesus. I start looking at the works as an outlook of the source instead of just looking right at the source Himself.

The verse in proverbs 3 at the top is taking at look at the source of Life. First, I trust The Lord with all my heart. Honestly, I hardly know what that means but I think it’s similar to John 7:38: “whoever believes in me as the scriptures has said , streams of living water will flow from within him.”

Wow. If I believe in Him according to what the scriptures say… and not “on my own understanding” streams of living water will flow out from within me… And you know what happens when that happens…. I will “acknowledge Him in all my ways”. And if I can acknowledge Him in all my ways it attests I’m trusting Him based on truth from scripture and God promises to make my paths straight!

If my paths are straight… What does that mean? This is something I’m learning about and don’t quite have the answer to. I do know it doesn’t mean there won’t be suffering because Romans 8:17 says through Jesus and his work on the cross for our sins we are children of God, heirs of God, and through our suffering we are co-heirs with Christ’s suffering, but also His glory.

Wisdom leads not to folly, so it seems reasonable to suggest success is also apart of having straight paths… But I think it means more than worldly success. I think it’s about living a straight path of righteousness, which doesn’t always entail worldly success. If my path is not straight and level, I will stumble and fall, hurting myself regardless of the surroundings my path leads through whether I’m rich or poor, married or single, home or away, crying or thriving.

Proverbs 15:24 says “the path of life leads upwards for the wise to keep him from going down into the grave.”

I desire my paths to be straight, but I know that as I trust God in truth and acknowledge Him in ALL my ways… He will indeed make my path straight and I pray He would keep that promise according to His great love! If I’m acknowledging Him in all my ways… I’m going to share the gospel because that is apart of everything I am or do.

A book I’ve been reading and got a lot of these thoughts from is The Love of God by Chambers.

Carry on in faith.

One thought on “The Source

  1. GodGirl September 13, 2013 / 4:52 PM

    Thank you for unpacking this verse and showing how this all leads to us sharing the gospel. Great post!

Leave a Reply

