This is the day.

It’s tempting to start this post by saying…

“As a college student…. life is always busy”

But then I can laugh to myself, because the premise of this post is that no matter what stage of life you are at LIFE IS ALWAYS BUSY! There are always a million things to do to get done and its never really accomplished. Sometimes we take breaks because we have to do important things like eat, sleep, pee. And I know I’m not the only one who’s thought… “Man if I didn’t have to do those things, life would be so much more efficient.” If only I didn’t have to go to the bathroom or shower, or do my laundry… I would have so much more time to do all of the things I have to do.

WOW! It’s so exhausting sometimes! And it’s so easy to get into a rut where all you do is get up, work, come home and sleep to repeat endlessly weeks upon weeks. Maybe you get a Sabbath day in there, or a sabbath hour. It’s like we crave a rest, we crave a break, but we also crave this sense of completion. “I just want to catch up.”

I was really convicted by this mentality because it felt like I was missing something. Romans 14:17 says that the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking but of righteousness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.

RIGHTEOUSNESS. PEACE. JOY.

Where is the joy and peace in endless tasks followed by endless days?

Luckily with conviction, a desire to seek God, and the further work of the Holy Spirit comes perspective! I was reading Genesis 1 about a month or so ago and I was really encouraged by God’s mentality in creation. God’s pretty powerful right? Sometimes its hard to believe He could have created the world in 6 days, but don’t you think He could have created it in one if really wanted to… isn’t He that POWERFUL?

Yes! He is! …. but, He didn’t. He set out each day His task, He completed that task, and at the end what did He say? “And it was good.” He didn’t do everything in one day and He didn’t say… “Well, I didn’t have time to get to creating the rest of the stars today so I’ll just leave that for tomorrow… I’m kind of tired.” He did what He had set out to do for the day and it was good.

Now, while we’re not God and are not perfect besides Christ in us, there is a lot of example that comes from this that I can implement in my life. With each day, and my tasks I have, I have the ability to choose what needs to get done and what doesn’t. I can set out those tasks, accomplish them by when I mean to. Then when it comes to the end of the day, I can stop and say it is good. Sometimes you won’t finish (we are not as diligent as God) sometimes you’ll do stuff wrong (we are not as knowledgeable and wise as God) but it is good because “This is the day the Lord has made, let us be glad and rejoice in it!” Psalm 118.

I’ve been really encouraged to set out on my tasks for the day and come to the end of it and say “Alright God, this is what I did today and I entrust it to you whether I’ve finished that list or not. It is good.” And then I go to bed.

What if we all had God’s mentality towards our daily lives and entrusted to Him all of the things we have to do and trust Him at the end of the day with all of the things we’ve done, even when it’s little to none? Praise Jesus for His redemptive work on the cross so that, because of the restored relationship, we can entrust our daily lives to Him when we are not perfect, busy, or stressed. What a privilege it is to carry everything to God in prayer!

Leave a Reply

