Proof For God and a “100 posts and 50 followers celebration”!

The evening is ending something like this: Percy Faith playing on my record player, a small class of Hakutsuru plum wine along side of a small slice of cheese dipped in ketchup (don’t knock it till you try it). I just came back from a little college retreat weekend where I spent the whole day in fellowship, prayer, and song. Delightful! On the way back I was talking with a friend about a recent facebook post that has been circling around on everyone’s newsfeed in our church. I usually and successfully avoid the intense debates on facebook because one, it rattles me emotionally and second because you can waste hours of time invested in a conversation where everyone involved is probably too stubborn to realize it. Just an opinion though. However, as I scrolled my newsfeed and deliberated if I wanted to expand the “see 137 previous comments” I noticed someone posted a comment on whether or not the explanation for gravity explains God so I had some thoughts to share because what else do you do on a Saturday night besides enjoy some wine and cheese and post blogs, right?
Also, wordpress is funny and sends you notifications when you hit different numbers such as “100th post” and “50 followers” both of which I’ve achieved apparently. I suppose that’s an accomplishment, so I just wanted to sincerely thank those reading. I pray over my blog that it might impact its readers no matter how many they are, so it’s encouraging to think some of it is at least God-thought provoking. So thanks! God’s done a lot of work in my life in the past couple of years and I really do enjoy sharing. Here’s my thoughts on proof for God:

A lot of people ask “prove to me God is real”. A fair statement. Why believe in something if its not real? Some will talk about creation and how a beautiful sunset declares a creator and some people see that and think “wow I can’t believe that happened by coincidence”. The arguments go on and on. Some people say, God is like gravity. It works and you trust in it, but you just can’t see it. Others say God is not like gravity, because you can test something against gravity over and over again to prove its existence. It’s a little hard to set up a science experiment for God especially since He’s not a vending machine who submits to limited human wisdom. Besides the word says “Blessed are those who have not seen and yet believe”. (I wish I was one of those blessed people- I doubt a lot)

We know gravity exists because we see it act upon another object. It happens over and over again and we realize there is a specific force that acts on this object over and over again and we call it gravity. Much like the wind, we don’t actually see its driving force but we see its action on other object, like trees and leaves, snow, air, we feel the wind so we call this force wind. Can God be like this too? Is it possible that God acts on objects over and over again in the same fashion that might give one a reason to believe there is a force behind all of these reactions? I think yes and those objects are you and me.

People who are committed to following Jesus share their stories or “testimonies” for one reason (usually) to declare God’s great work, his action and force, upon their lives transforming them from a selfish, bitter, unmerciful, lazy, arrogant, angry, worried person to a selfless, joyful, gracious, diligent, humble, loving, peaceful soul who wants to follow God from here through all of eternity.  It happens in the same way too: through confession Christ as your savior and obeying his commands by loving God and people all via his Spirit. Lives are transformed everyday and the Spirit will work the same way in all of them. It’s in our lives that we carry the proof for God and how his undeserving and unconditional love affects our hearts! I get there’s a lot of liars out there claiming Jesus as their savior or some other religion and live opposite, but that just proves we have an enemy hard at work. Not to fret though, Jesus has conquered the grave and all authority on heaven and earth has been given to Him who is to be forever praised.

The funny this is,  I share my proof for God and people will say to me “Thanks for sharing that, I’m glad that you found healing and joy, but it just doesn’t convince me!” And I’m like GAHHHHH I don’t get it. And then God has to remind me about patience and goodness because I often “don’t get it” either.

I suppose this probably isn’t a perfect argument, but one thing my friend mentioned is that it doesn’t really even matter because people really won’t believe. Even people who saw Jesus face to face turn water to wine didn’t believe. How much more proof do you need? The truth is people are bent on not believing- I’m convinced. Lord, help us all believe.

Proof for that is Romans 1:16-25

For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes[…]. For in the gospel the righteousness of God is revealed—a righteousness that is by faith from first to last, just as it is written: “The righteous will live by faith.”
The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of people, who suppress the truth by their wickedness, since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that people are without excuse.
For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened. Although they claimed to be wise, they became fools and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images made to look like a mortal human being and birds and animals and reptiles.
Therefore God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts to sexual impurity for the degrading of their bodies with one another. They exchanged the truth about God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator—who is forever praised. Amen.

I pray we would worship our creator instead of the created. What can creation do for us? Does it give us life, peace, freedom, joy? No. Only you, God. Only you. Help us trust you gave us life, you own our lives, and you like a perfect father that you are know truly what’s best for our lives. May I know that everyday.

Leave a Reply

