Ahhh, a new creation.

A week and a half before graduating from college and moving out of the dorms, I lost my student ID. Sure. This happens all the time. Not that big of a deal. I’ve lost it time and time again, once even in Ukraine where it ended up on my porch in a lost suitcase from an exchange student traveling to Iowa State after losing it in the basement of some catacombs (now that’s a fun, long story for another time). Somehow it always finds it’s way back to me.

The picture on it is from before freshman year of college. I was tired and hot, and when the lady who took it asked if I wanted a different picture I sighed in exhaustion saying “I don’t really care, it’s fine.” To get a new one, it cost $25 and being a poor college student putting aside (generally) every penny to pay off my loans, I was satisfied with this picture of grungy, tired Teresa.

The problem with losing it a week and half before the end of the semester (and really not being able to find it anywhere) was that I only had a week and half left to the end of the semester. I was graduating! Why would I want to spend $25 for one week of class? Then someone pointed out that I’d be losing a lot more because I wasting some meals for our dining center. (I had like 15 left @ $10/ meal = a lot more than $25) So I caved and got a new ID. The lady wasn’t very amused at the photo place when I tried to share the story. Walking out from the office, I stared down at my shiny new ID that I would use for the last week of school.

It was my new picture that really caught my attention.

Four years is a lot of time to go by. Looking at this new picture, I started to reflect on the difference between freshman Teresa and soon to be graduated Teresa. (As I am now, Praise God!)

My old ID had a this grungy picture, and when I looked at it, all I ever thought about was that person… most of the time it made me shudder. Seriously. I was a broken, messed up kid. Looking at that picture, it just reminded me of all sin I was entangled in, all the anger, the hurt, the strife and I remember only my longing to escape the life I was trying to run away from.

IMG_0695

Then four years go by. God comes and rescues me from the pit, from the mire, and places me in a family of believers that comes a long side of me; struggling to fight the good fight, who are running to win the prize, and who want to love Jesus with all of their life… and with that for me came redemption, reconciliation, restoration, and reverence for my God, the God who paid for my sins on a cross and binds up my broken heart. Because of that I have a new identity. The old has passed the new has come. 2 Corithians 5:17 says “Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come”. 

John 1:12-13 Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God- children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband’s will, but born of God.

Now I have this new ID, this new identity card, to remind me just of that. I’m a new creation, I’m not who I once was. And I’m quite glad I lost that ID because I don’t need old Teresa to identify me anymore.

Colossians 3:3-4
For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.

And we all are for those who’ve accepted Christ. I’m so thankful God gave me such a neat perspective. Almost like I just needed to lose that thing!

Carry on in faith and love!
-Teresa

Leave a Reply

