Song of Deliverance

As goodness seeps into the air, like dew and morning fog
A deeper longing starts to grow and settle on my heart.
A whisper from a distant dream, no- memories; they’ve all been mine.
Not the yet unachieved, but past is this constant dream
Speaking to me of deliverance.

In tiny fears, no instead tiny hands where fears first started to grow
as trials mended, spoiled, and tempted, where desperation I started to know.

In my mind and soul, as the world taught me to see, trust was given to nobody
it was You who helped me breathe.
Every last, though I resisted and painted a different kind of dream
one that schemed of endless bleeding brought forth from suffering.

Thankfully, you had a sweeter dream.

Even yet before that time, your dream was coming fully alive.
Though penitence may have been mine, it was your drawing and love:
I became Thine. You had still, greater deliverance in mind.

Within that suffering when I despaired, regretting every sense of hope
Abandoning truth, power, and strength… I stretched forth to find my own.
Yet your hand still beside me though I refused to pay any kind of attention to your love.
I thought I’d be better off.
My eyes wide shut.

Though a calloused stone, once called my heart, occupied this cavity
with time and distance you gently melted me
in time to remember why I’d left so long ago
only to be met by a God with might, His love that he loves to show.
Any reason can you guess to make this sinner whole?

And then from there, if there’s a yet to go, freedom began to fill this soul!
From mountains and valleys, building bridges again.
You’ve taken me back to the world I was first delivered in.
With bitterness, malice flowing away. Instead in its place- fountains of grace!

Oh and you see this isn’t even the end. The greatest deliverance has yet to begin!
From this old world to the eternal next, from Jesus’s blood- the first, the last.
I did taste and see, in my heart when I believed.
And then when mighty waters rise, I will not be reached.
You are my hiding place, my protection, my peace.
He surrounded me with songs
Of deliverance!

 

Leave a Reply

