A great Hope.

I hit a rocky place a few months ago. Despair enclosed in on just about every side and I started to forget why all this life was happening in the first place. So discouraged I remember praying “God, I don’t even know what hope is anymore.”

Out of hope and out in the mountains I spent some time in Colossians and came across the verse that says our hope has been secured, stored, sealed in heaven. (1:5) I started to do more in depth searches which basically meant I did a lot of dictionary searching and translational stuff. Hope is the expectation of good. And that goodness comes from having redemption, the forgiveness of our sins. (1:13)

Getting my right perspective back on track, I began reading through Isaiah again. (Most of the time I read Isaiah and I’m frustratingly like “Lord, I don’t understand any of this.” Amen?)
I wanted to share this though:

Joy of the Redeemed (Isaiah 35:1-10 NIV):
The desert and the parched land will be glad; the wilderness will rejoice and blossom. Like the crocus, it will burst into bloom; it will greatly rejoice and shout for joy. The glory of Lebanon will be given to it, the splendor of Carmel and Sharon; they will see the glory of The Lord, the splendor of our God.
Strengthen the feeble hands, steady the knees that give way; say to those with fearful hearts, “Be strong, do not fear; your God will come, he will come with vengeance; with divine retribution he will come save you.”
Then will the eyes of the blind be opened and the ears of the deaf un stopped. Then will the lame leap like a deer, and the mute tongues shout for joy. Water will gush forth in wilderness and streams in the desert. The burning sand will become a pool, the thirsty ground bubbling springs. In haunts where jackals once lay, grass and reeds and papyrus will grow.
And a highway will be there; it will be called the Way of Holiness. The unclean will not journey on it; it will be for those who walk in that Way; wicked fools will not go about on it. No lion will be there, nor any ferocious beast get up on it; they will not he found there. But only the redeemed will walk there, and the ransomed of The Lord will return.
They will enter Zion with singing; everlasting joy will crown their heads. Gladness and joy will overtake them, and sorrow and sighing will flee away.”

What a great hope of joy for those of us who are redeemed by the blood of Jesus!

Carry on in faith, love, & hope!

2 thoughts on “A great Hope.

  1. Chelsea October 27, 2014 / 9:00 PM

    So I was reading another friend’s blog, and then remembered you mentioning you had a blog… and so here I am reading some of your thoughts and being quite encouraged. Your life and pursuit of the Lord are a blessing and a challenge to me! You have said you have too many thoughts, but I can’t see that being a bad thing when they are so richly and sweetly infused with a desire to know the Lord more – “in him are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge”. Also, I love Isaiah and am not fond of cats, but we can still be friends. :) Love you, sister.

    • teresarose October 27, 2014 / 9:07 PM

      Haha, Chelsea. This blessed me so much. Thanks for reading and sharing your encouragement with me! Thanks also more being a sound foundation of truth in my life. You always have good scripture to pull out at the right time, and I really need that! I’m glad we can be friends… Even if you don’t like cats :)

Leave a Reply

