To hell with consistency.

This is my lesson from the past month and a half.

My roommate asked me maybe a couple weeks ago if I thought it was exciting not knowing when I was going to work or get my next paycheck or pay my bills. She didn’t ask it like that… it was more like “Isn’t it kind of fun not being committed and tied down to responsibility?”

I was like:

grumpy cat.

I was at a point where I was starting dislike that whole waiting for the job, picking up strange side jobs, and cleaning up dog poop. That whole “do everything without grumbling or complaining” thing wasn’t working out very well for me. But God helped me see one thing through my discontentment which was what I was putting my hope in: consistency.

Then as I was observing the lives around me it hit me… when is life ever consistent anyway?

What is the point of putting hope in life being consistent? It’s just not. Life’s not stable. It’s ever changing. You get a job, you lose a job; you get a bonus, your car breaks down; people come in your life, they leave your life; someone’s born, they grow up. I think parents probably get what I’m talking about right? It seems like life is more about learning to make adjustments than searching for stability, conformity.

So I say… to hell with consistency. With this world at least. Of course all this points to the longing hope of our hearts for dependency on a rock. The Rock. An I’m not talking about Peter. I’m talking about Jesus.

Hebrews 13:8 says “Jesus Christ is the same today, and yesterday, and forever.”
He who said “Everyone then who hears these words of mine and does them will be like a wise man who built his house on the rock.  And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house, but it did not fall, because it had been founded on the rock. And everyone who hears these words of mine and does not do them will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand. And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell, and great was the fall of it.” (Matthew 7:24-27 ESV)

What’s greater about God is that, during this time of teaching… He provided all a long the way. People gave me work when I was out of work, I got my foot in the door of a really great company with an internship, I was able to serve families in my church, I was helped financially a lot, and my courage was restored. God is so merciful. And a good teacher. And a patient  teacher. And consistent. God is consistent.

My roommate (Kitt) and I just listened to this this song and did the hand motions together. It was a special moment.

Here you go:

Carry on in faith in our UNCHANGING God!

-Teresa

Leave a Reply

